Damn You #craftbeer, Why Have You Forsaken Me!!! (2014 Edition)

Posted: May 30, 2014 in Rambing on about nothing in particular

It has gotten to that time of year again when the snow has FINALLY melted and the weather is nice enough to get outdoors and hit the pavement.  As anyone who lives in Western New York knows, this winter was especially crappy with the continuous cold, heavy snow fall and record low temperatures.  Unfortunately, the ‘spring’ time has not been much better because the temperatures have still bee very low and the weather has been very wet.  Typically, when Memorial Day Weekend rolls around, I am planting my garden and laying down the mulch…unfortunately, my backyard is still pretty wet and I haven’t even hit the garden with the tiller yet.

My running goals and motivation are the same as last year, get in better shape, drop more LBs and hopefully survive the Buffalo Zombie Mud run this year.  Last year when I started off, I weighed 262.0 pounds and ended up around 237 pounds towards the end of October.  This year, I am starting off with a sexy 247.2 pounds with a goal set to get down to 220 pounds by Halloween

Here is my plan of attack for this year…

30 minutes (exact) to knock out the longest distance.  I ended up doing this by mid-June last year and it turned out to be very motivating as opposed to just running a single mile for time

My longest run last year was 3.18 miles in the 30 minute time allotment…my goal this year is break the 3.30 mile mark in 30 minutes, which is roughly a 9 minute mile average.

 

Here goes nothing…

Day One – 2.58 miles in 30 minutes….. Thankfully my back was bothering me going into the run because then it can continue to bother me the day afterwards too, while my body adjusts to doing actual exercise.  I remember being stuck at 2.84 miles about 45 days into my running last year, so this is actually a slow but encouraging start

Day Three – 2.72 miles in 30 minutes….An Obvious improvement from the first run of the year but my leg muscles and back issues are still hampering me.  My goal for the month of June is to get the distance to 3 miles and get the lungs up to par.

Day Five – 2.72 miles in 30 minutes….so better, no worse…only difference was that it was 85 degrees with 100% humidity…thought I was dragging ass too.

Day Seven – 2.88 miles in 30 minutes…thank you comfortable temperatures…pushing for that 10 minute per mile average by the end of the month.

Day Eight – weight at 245.7 pounds…down a pound and a half in the first week

Day Nine – 2.93 miles in 30 minutes…started out strong but kind of gassed out in the end.

Day Eleven – 1.5 miles in 20 minutes on the treadmill…it was raining out all day and was forced to run on my treadmill, which I hate….so hence the slacking

Intermission.   This whole week sucked with work and haven’t gotten out at all 😦

Leave a Reply

