Hoppin’ Frog Brewery ~ Akron OH

Posted: September 22, 2013 in Beer Drinking Adventures, Brewery Feature
Tags: , , ,

Hoppin' Frog Tasting Room

As many of my friends know that I travel way too much for my job.  Every year or so, my territory will change for whatever dumb reason.  When I am on the road, I really hate just sitting in the hotel room because it is quite depressing missing my family, so instead I will meet up with fellow Beer Advocates that live in the areas that I end up staying in.  I have many friends along the way and as my territory has shifted again, I had to leave behind some of the good friends that I have made in NY, CT, NJ and PA.  But when a door closes, another door opens…and my visit to the new Tasting Room at Hoppin’ Frog is one of those opportunities.

image

Hoppin’ Frog Brewery, located in Akron Ohio, just recently opened up their new tasting room in the past several month.  Hoppin’ Frog is best known for several of their award winning beers (GABF and World Beer Cup) of B.O.R.I.S (Oatmeal Russian Imperial Stout), D.O.R.I.S. (Double Oatmeal Russian Imperial Stout) and Naked Evil (Barrel Aged Barleywine).  When I found out that they had opened up a tasting room finally (and since I was stuck in Akron anyways), I couldn’t wait to get there to check things out.

The tasting room is well lit on the inside and not crowded at all.   As you walk through the front door, you are greeted with a glass case that contains shirts, glasses, and other swag for purchase.  The glass case also divides both sides of the bar, which each side will seat about 10-12 patrons.  Other than the bar itself, there are also high top tables along the walls and in the open area.  At the time that I went, the tap list was pretty extensive with roughly 25 Hoppin Frog offerings and 5 guest taps.  Along with the great beer list that they offer, they also offer a nice but small dinner menu and 5oz, 8oz, 16oz pours too.

image

For dinner, I had the Screaming Shrimp, which was three good sized shrimp (boom!  oxymoron right there) with Cajun seasoning, served over a bed of dirty brown rice.  It was awesome to say the least…but I was not there for the food, so here was the real reason that I went there…

image

Hoppin’ Frog is a great brewery and the tasting room is an absolute wonderful addition to the brewery itself.  I highly recommend that if you are in the Cleveland area, make the half hour drive down to Akron and stop in for a pour or two, you will not be disappointed.

Comments

Leave a Reply

