August 2013 ~ Monthly Beer Reviews

Posted: September 7, 2013 in Monthly Reviews
Tags: , , , , , ,

Another month has come and gone (along with summer as the temperatures have dipped drastically) and a busy one it was between my family road trip to Sesame Place (which also resulted in a stop to Tired Hands Brewing) and my eventual last hoorahs in the Albany, NYC and Scranton PA areas…but what fun times they were.  I got to stop in at Torst in Brooklyn, a nice gem of a bar in White Plains NY called Lazy Boy Cafe and multiple stops to Barcade in Jersey City NJ (which my wife loved).  All of these trips resulted in some serious beer drinking for the month….and more beer drinking leads to more beer reviews.  Here were the gems and bombs from August for me…

Top 5 Beer Reviews for August:

The 5 Beer Reviews that made me wished I just stuck to only good beers:

  • Maui Brewing Lemongrass Saison ~ Saison / Famrhouse Ale ~ 3.25 /5 Rating
  • Rivertowne Pourhouse Hala Kalhiki Pineapple Beer ~ Fruit / Vegetable Beer ~ 3.08 /5 Rating
  • Tired Hands Brewing Mr. Alien ~ Berliner Weissbier ~ 3.06 /5 Rating
  • Caledonian Brewery Newcastle Brown Ale ~ English Brown Ale ~ 2.83 /5 Rating
  • And the beer that made me realize that the world may end was Miller 64 ~ Light Lager ~ 2.04 /5 Rating

While not every beer can be a white whale, I definitely will admit that I was able to kill some really great beers this month.   September is going to be kind of a light month because I am heading to the End of Days with the Buffalo Zombie Mud Run coming.  Got to be true to the undead that I will do my best to out run them.

On a side note, the weekend that my wife and I were in Northern NJ for her friend’s wedding, we made three different trips to Barcade in Jersey City NJ.  It is such a cool place because they serve great craft beers along with the stigma of having classic video games to play too.  During that weekend, my wife and I were playing an original version of Tapper like crazy, to the point that she thought it would be a great idea for us to purchase the game for my future man cave.  Only problem is that the original version (the budweiser version, not the root beer version) only had about 3300 games made and there aren’t that many around.  It is said that if one does come up for sale, it will fetch anywhere between $800-1500 depending on the condition of the game…let the search begin.

In Search Of:  Tapper (budweiser version)…Inquire Within.

Comments
  1. Matt says:

    Are classic video games a stigma? And…lest you forget….you asked for another 4 lemongrass saisons. They’ll be arriving soon

Leave a Reply

