June 2013 ~ Monthly Beer Reviews

Posted: July 7, 2013 in Monthly Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

After the Memorial Day Weekend tasting , I have really slowed down on the drinking so that I could put more of my focus on losing some of this weight that has been apart of my BeerAdvocate build for so long now.  Well, since I have started this little endeavor, I have dropped 10 pounds over the past month and a half.  But with the good of losing weight, also comes the bad of not reviewing as many beers as I normally do.  I have to go back and figure it out but I was reviewing roughly 55-60 new beers per month but since I have been on this weight loss kick, that number has dramatically fallen to about 35-40.  I know, its not like I gave up drinking altogether but that is a serious fall off for a ticker like me.  Anyways, lets get to the tops (and bottoms of the month)…

Top 5 Beer Reviews for June:

 

The 5 Beer Reviews that somehow made it into my mouth during June:

  • The Bruery Provisions Series: Snicklefritz ~ Belgian Strong Pale Ale ~ 3.58 /5 Rating
  • ShawneeCraft Brewing Sub Rosa ~ Quadruple ~ 3.55 /5 Rating
  • Free Will Brewing Napoleon Sour Farmhouse Ale ~ Saison / Farmhouse Ale ~ 3.34 /5 Rating
  • Rohrbach Brewing Gimme Shelter ESB ~ Extra Special / Strong Bitter ESB ~ 3.26 /5 Rating
  • And the beer that makes me want to avoid Troy NY altogether was Browns Brewing Troyalty Series #1: Bourbon Barrel Aged Imperial Stout ~ American Double / Imperial Stout ~ 2.90 /5 Rating

When a Loon can only make the #4 spot for the month, it still isn’t a bad month… but, I promise to drink more in July…mainly because I have several beer hauls coming in over the next week and the big Buffalo BA summer tasting coming up next weekend.  Details to come…

Leave a Reply

