Gang Bang BIF Round 3 ~ Part II ~ The Tasting

Posted: March 29, 2013 in Just another great tasting
Tags:

Well, this is not my first go around with this particular Beer It Forward as our group was involved in this same one last summer, plus the packing party to accompany it. This time around, we had delivered our boxes to the organizer of the BIF and his team in New Jersey. I was extremely proud with the boxes that we put together for New Jersey as we hit them hard with some really big beers and crushed some huge Wants along the way too.

The team that had sent to us was a new group from Milwaukee. As a lot of my close friends know that I am a huge fan of that city from when my sister had moved there in 1999, as it reminded me a lot of Buffalo except with better beer bars, better jobs, and more to do on the weekend. Even after my sister moved away from Milwaukee in mid-September 2001, I had made several trips back there with my father and friends for baseball games and beer drinking excursions.

image

While I do love a box of great Wisconsin love, I got the impression that there wasn’t a single person that was blown away by the box they sent. Now while I will admit that we ourselves did not send boxes full of White Whales, we still put together some great boxes of retired beers, highly rated beers, and some hard to get beers. What we got in return seemed to be more of common shelf beers and basement leftovers with a few exceptions. Half of the box contained beers from New Glarus, which is a decent brewery on their own, but were all common shelf beers and none really hard to come by, especially for someone living in Wisconsin. I think some of this is compounded by the fact that I recently received pretty much half of a box of most of the same selections recently in the Movie BIF, so that would be a Me issue and not necessarily a Them issue.

Thankfully, one thing that was very nice about our box was that Milwaukee had sent us plenty of 12oz doubles in our box. One of our group participants wasn’t able to make it that day due to work related issues, so we were able to try a lot of the beers, yet save an extra one for him, for the next time we meet up again. Team Milwaukee also sent us some strange food offerings of Maple Coated Popcorn, Hot Pickles and Pickled Eggs. Normally, this would make most humans think twice about eating stuff like that but when you are drinking a butt ton of beer, you will eat just about anything. One of the members of our team was kind enough (or just trying to make me sick) to make Reubens for the team…but I am not fan of boiled meat and cabbage so I passed. With that being said, Pickled Eggs were a welcome addition…lol

image

Yup…Nintendo Ice Hockey

The Gang Bang really got going when our host broke out a blast from the past with Nintendo Ice Hockey. While I will admit that my two button controller skills were lacking, it was great to play something that has been around for 25 years and everyone had a great time. Unfortunately, I had to check out a little early as it was a Sunday Night and I had to have my wife pick me up before my daughter went to bed. Not to mention that it was St. Patrick’s Day and I wouldn’t be caught dead driving with even the faintest hint of alcohol on my breathe on that day especially. Lets see where the next one takes us…especially when the weather is much nicer and we can be outside again.

Comments
  1. the fuj. says:

    Boiled meats and cabbage are gross, but Reubens are amazing, you fool. Much more than the sum of its parts.

Leave a Reply

