I’m not being bitter, I’m just sour! (Featuring Cascade Brewing)

Posted: November 10, 2012 in Brewery Feature
Tags: ,

With witty headlines like posted above, I am extremely surprised that I haven’t won a pulitzer prize or a bloggy (if there is such a thing).  Anyways, for pretty much the entire year, I have been on a huge sour kick.  Anything that I can get my hands on in the ways of Wild Ales, I have been cracking them open, slamming them down, and moving onto the next one.   I’ve been very fortunate in having some of the biggest sours and sour rarities this year, beers like Bruery’s Bottleworks XII, Lost Abbey’s Track 7, Ithaca’s Le Bleu and Brute, Captain Lawrence’s Cuvee de Castleton and probably THEE most sour beer I have ever had, Bruery’s Mother Funker.  With many brewers coming to the bitter side, it is not only a great time for craft beer but for a sour head like myself.

One thing I have generally noticed about sour beers is that you can get a nice, average priced sour bomber but it is not overly impressive or a small 12.7oz bottle for 20 bucks and be blown away.  Unfortunately, there doesn’t seem to be a middle ground, either you go boring cheap or expensive great.

Cascade Brewing happens to be one of those breweries that I have taken a liking to this year and also produce some really good sour beers. Cascade Brewing / Racoon Lodge & Brewpub is located in Portland Oregon and has a solid lineup of sour beers too. Each week, Cascade puts out a keg of some sort of barrel aged sours at their brewpub each week, that just goes to show your their level of competence when producing sours. For several years now, Cascade Brewing has been doing limited releases in bottles of some of the sours they produce. But, as stated before, they are usually really good but it comes with a hefty cost. Cascade Brewings most recent release, Noyaux, is supposed to be drinking very well early on but each bottle came out at $25 per bottle (and that’s before you pay for shipping too). Like I said, you can’t drink good cheap or cheap good, it just doesn’t work that way.

image

  • Apricot
  • Strawberry
  • Figaro
  • Noyaux
  • The Vine
  • Blueberry
  • Sang Noir
  • Kriek

Since I have gotten onto my sour kick this year, I have learned to seek out Cascade Brewing and their great selection of beers. While the picture above is not every beer they have ever produced in bottles, it is still a pretty solid lineup and is only missing 4 of the different styles that they have ever produced (to the best of my knowledge). I highly recommend checking out their website to see what is available for purchase (yes, they ship some of their bottle offerings).

http://www.cascadebrewing.com

UPDATE: I had forgotten to mention what the 4 bottles I was missing from Cascade. Mind you, this is to the best of knowledge and if there other bottles not pictured or mentioned above, then please let me know. The four bottles I was missing were Bourbonic Plague, Vlad the Imp Aler, Blackberry, and Sang Royal. I know someone willing to share their Blackberry and have recently acquired a bottle of Sang Royal (thanks Matt).

Comments
  1. […] some really great beer reviews.  As you will see below that Cascade owned the month of March.   I really do love Cascade Brewing but their beers come at a very heavy price tag most of the time, so it is something that is not […]

Leave a Reply

