Hill Farmstead Tasting (and then some)

Posted: September 27, 2012 in Just another great tasting
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So I have been slowing down lately on my posts and do apologize for the inactivity.  Its just been a little crazy around the old homestead lately and I barely have an hour to myself anymore.  But, as it turns out at times, when I am on the road, the moons can align just right and a plan comes together.  Well, this plan was more of a ‘good timing’ thing than a moon alignment as the past weekend was the Hill Farmstead Fall Festival…and it just so happened that several of my friends from the Albany area were attending, buying as much beer as they could afford, and having a meeting of the 14 Stone Tasting Group on Monday night. Since I could not add to the Hill Farmstead collection, I just added whatever random beers I had laying around in the backseat of my car. Here is what we were able to sample:

  • The Brewery at Trapp Family Lodge Oktoberfest (VT) ~ Marzen/Oktoberfest ~ 5.6% ABV ~ 3.63 /5 Rating.
  • Hill Farmstead Simcoe Pale Ale (VT) ~ American Pale Ale ~ 5.2% ABV ~ 4.13 /5 Rating.
  • Hill Farmstead Society & Solitude #5 (VT) ~ American Double/Imperial IPA ~ 7.8% ABV ~ 4.20 /5 Rating.
  • Cascade Brewing Apricot (OR) ~ Lambic – Fruit ~ 8.5% ABV ~ 4.20 /5 Rating.
  • Hill Farmstead Arthur (VT) ~ Saison/Farmhouse Ale ~ 6.0%ABV ~ 3.78 /5 Rating.
  • Hill Farmstead Clara Grisette (VT) ~ Saison/Farmhouse Ale ~ 4.2%ABV ~ 3.25 /5 Rating.
  • Alesmith Brewing Old Numbskull (CA) ~ American Barleywine ~ 11.0% ABV ~ 4.16 /5 Rating.
  • Alesmith Brewing Decadence 2011 (CA) ~ American Barleywine ~ 11.0% ABV ~ 3.91 /5 Rating.
  • Weyerbacher Riserva 2010 (PA) ~ American Wild Ale ~ 11.4% ABV ~ 4.05 /5 Rating.
  • Hill Farmstead Ephraim (VT) ~ American Double/Imperial IPA ~ 10.5% ABV ~ 4.08 /5 Rating.
  • The Bruery White Oak (CA) ~ Wheatwine ~ 11.5% ABV ~ 3.91 /5 Rating.
  • Hill Farmstead Everett (VT) ~ American Porter ~ 7.5% ABV ~ 4.43 /5 Rating.
  • Cigar City 110K + OT Batch #5 (FL) ~ American Double/Imperial IPA ~ 11.0% ABV ~ 3.58 /5 Rating.

Thankfully, Fuj’s girlfriend made a killer Italian dinner to help suck all the booze but the morning after was an acid reflux nightmare.  I woke up twice through out the night from Acid Reflux and was getting attacks for the remainder of the day….solution: Dairy Queen Pumpkin Milkshake.

After dragging my ass all over the capital district for work, I was exhausted from a short night’s sleep and a long work day.  I still had enough energy to drag my rear into The Ruck in Troy NY for some wings and a couple of pints.  The Ruck is an interesting place…from the exterior, it is just a crappy neighborhood old man bar…from the interior, same thing…except with 30 taps.  Exhausted and bored, I could only muster up several reviews for the evening.

  • Sixpoint Brewing Spice of LIfe (Crystal)(NY) ~ American IPA ~ 6.3% ABV was a very grainy beer.  I will admit that I am not a fan of Crystal Hops but this beer lacked any hop character other than the bittering effect that these hops provide.  As intrigued as I am by the Sixpoint Single Hop series, this is one particular beer I would not seek out.  3.45 /5 Rating.
  • Smuttynose Brewing Wheat Wine (Big Beer Series)(NH) ~ Wheatwine ~ 10.7% ABV was just a really strange wheat wine.  The beer has nose and taste of honey, pumpkin, burnt wheat, and Jack Daniels.  These are all things (other than the wheat) that are not typical of Wheatwines, so I was at a loss.  The booziness was way over powering which made this even more of a mess in my opinion.  3.63 /5 Rating.
Leave a Reply

