July 2012 ~ Monthly Beer Reviews

Posted: August 2, 2012 in Monthly Reviews

For the month of July, I did more travelling than I normally do with a work trip down to the NYC area and a vacation to Boston, on top of my normal work routine. With that being said, I got to get into a bunch of new places I had never been to previously and try some new breweries too. Let the fun begin…

Top 5 Beer Reviews for July:

  • Captain Lawrence Brewing Cuvee de Castleton ~ American Wild Alw ~ 4.48 /5 Rating
  • Captain Lawrence Brewing Rosso E Marrone ~ Flanders Oud Bruin ~ 4.48 /5 Rating
  • Russian River Brewing Row 2/Hill 56 ~ American Pale Ale ~ 4.38 /5 Rating
  • Port Brewing 6th Anniversary Double IPA~ American Double/Imperial IPA ~ 4.35 /5 Rating
  • Peekskill Brewing Eastern Standard IPA ~ American IPA ~ 4.23 /5 Rating

With the good comes the bad, the Not Top 5 for July:

  • Brick House Brewing Rauchbier ~ Rauchbier ~ 3.43 /5 Rating
  • Brick House Brewing Nitroboom ~ Irish Dry Stout ~ 3.40 /5 Rating
  • Harpoon UFO White ~ Witbier ~ 3.38 /5 Rating
  • Red Hook Long Hammer IPA ~ American IPA ~ 3.00 /5 Rating
  • And the winner wasn’t….Bruery Nottenroth ~ Berliner Weissier ~ 2.78 /5 Rating

In all fairness to this months weakest beer, it was tapped as a failed version of their great Berliner Weissbier titles Hottenroth, hence the name NOTtenroth. I had an option from my good friend Matt in SoCal and chose this one knowing full well it was a bust.

(I apologize for the sloppy appearance of this post for anyone who read it before it was cleaned up…it was done with the smartphone app and is not very user friendly…give me a break, I worked a 16 hours day today…poor me).

Leave a Reply

