Infusion Confusion?!?!

Posted: March 24, 2012 in Why buy it when you can make it

So, as some of you may or may not know, I also play with liquor too.  I feel that in order to be a true alcoholic, you have to know all forms of alcohol.

I first started with Infusing Booze earlier this year when it was my friend Keith’s Birthday.  Being a fellow drunk too, it was a gift that I knew he would appreciate.  To those of you still confused, read below:

Infusing is a process that allows seperate flavors to impart each other.   By infusing alcohol, it allows the liquor to impart with the flavors that it is infused with.  It is said that the easiest thing to infuse is Vodka.

I actually purchased an infusing decanter that can hold up to 2.5 liters of liquid, a big bag of glass marbles (to prevent the spigot from cloughing), and a stainless steel spigot.

Adventures in Infusing ~ Part I

For my first time infusing, I infused Pinnacle Vodka with 2 Crispin Apples and 6 Cinnamon Sticks.  The Crispin Apples were cored and cut into 8 pieces.  The Cinnamon Sticks were then layered within the pieces of apples and the container was left to sit for 3 days.  An important ip when infusing is to keep the container out of direct sunlight to prevent the fruit from baking and fermenting.  The apples oxidized and turned brown within 6 hours and over the 3 day process, turned the clear vodka into something with a brownish hue.  The whole thing was given to Keith as a 40th Birthday present.  Needless to say, the 1.75 liter of apple/cinnamon infused voka didnt survive the party.  The flavors quickly merged with the vodka and made the liquid a very delicious, yet potent concoction.

Infusing ~ Act II

At the same time I infused the apple/cinnamon vodka, I tried to tackle the hardest liquor to infuse…Tequila.  I infused 2 Naval Oranges and 6 slices of Fresh Pineapple with a large bottle of Sauza Hornitos Silver Tequila.  After sitting for 10 days, I unleashed it at my daughters 2nd birthday party.  Needless to say, when put over ice,  the citric acid really took the bite off the tequila and made it drinkable (especially for those that dont like tequila)…went very well with orange juice and unsweetened Iced Tea.

 

Act III ~ Whats to come

As my decanter is currently sitting in soap water and awaiting a thourough cleaning, my next infusing adventure will be Light Rum, Bananas, and Cloves.  In part, kind of a Rum Hefeweizen…further details to follow when completed and unleashed on unsuspecting subjects…my BA tasting group on March 31.

And we’re off….
image

Banana and Cloves infusing into Appletons Light Rum

Leave a Reply

